James Bond Broccoli

17 Aug
The wonder food.

The wonder food.

“The Husband” is one of the pickiest eaters on the planet.  If you mention the words “healthy” or “low fat” he runs for the hills.  If you utter “vegetable” he gets so frightened that he seizes up and plays dead like a possum in the hopes that you will decide that he no longer needs to eat his veggies.

In my effort to be a good wife and ensure that he is around for a long time, I have been experimenting with ways to make veggies more tasty to him.  I remembered my dad making Brussels sprouts when I was a kid and they were always really tasty.  He said that he picked up how to make them when he worked at a French restaurant when he was in college.

*Side Bar: My dad used to occasional regale us with tales of his previous work experiences.  My mom and I are tossing around the idea of getting a background check done on him because he had so many jobs that we can’t keep them straight.  It’s hard to believe the stories some of the time.  My theory is that my dad used to work for the government as an international spy and all these “jobs” he had were used as covers.  It’s the only reason I can think of that he would have had so many different employers in the 70’s.  Seems legit, right?

We’ll just tell them I “work” at UPS.

Back to the veggies!

So I thought it would be worth a shot to try cooking veggies like the way my dad does.  The man got 3 small children to eat Brussels sprouts.  He had to be on to something.  “The Husband” gave me a list of vegetables that he finds “semi-tolerable” and I picked broccoli for the grand experiment.

The verdict?

He absolutely loved it!  We actually fight over who gets to eat the last one.

So for all you parents and spouses who can’t get their loved ones to eat veggies, or even the person who hates veggies and wants to be healthy I bring you…  Drum Roll…

James Bond Broccoli

* Inspired by the international cooking spy (unverified)  hi-jinx of my dad.

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 bag of frozen broccoli florets
  • salt and pepper to taste

This is what the start of greatness looks like.

Directions

    1. Melt the butter in a skillet over medium heat.
    2. When butter is melted pour all the broccoli on top.
    3. Let it sit without disturbing for 5 minutes, then flip the broccoli.
    4. Keep repeating step 3 until the broccoli begins to burn.  The blackening is good, it adds a caramelized butter flavor to the broccoli and helps to soften it.  The more blackened the veggies, the richer the taste.
    5. When broccoli is at the desired level of blackness / softness remove from heat and serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

